Minority In Parliament Withdraws Consent For Akufo-Addo’s Security Ministers

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) Minority side of the Appointments Committee in Parliament has withdrawn its consent for the approval of three Ministers-designate for the security sector, Whatsup News has gathered.

Albert Kan Dapaah, Minister-designate for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul, Minister-designate for Defense and Ambrose Dery, Minister-designate for the Interior have lost the support of the Minority with the benefit of hindsight.

According to reports, the Minority turned round after the NDC party deemed its approval of these same three persons who had superintended over the shooting of NDC members and supporters during the Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election.

A number of party people had been wounded when Kan Dapaah’s boys had opened fire on unarmed civilians at the home of Delali Kwasi Brempong, the NDC’s then Parliamentary Candidate for Ayawaso West Wuogon.

President Akufo-Addo would constitute a Commission of Inquiry to look into the matter but later, largely trashed the report of the Commission which had recommended prosecutions and other sanctions.

The same three were helmsmen of the three Ministries when armed police and armed military personnel opened fire on unarmed civilians at Techiman South, killing four NDC supporters during the 2020 elections.

A total of eight civilians were killed in Ghana’s bloodiest general election, with President Akufo Addo refusing to acknowledge the killings.

According to reports, the Minority came to the decision to withdraw their consent for the approval of the three today after a marathon caucus meeting that had been provoked by uproar within the party over their decision to consent to the approval of the three.

The withdrawal means the three will now have to be voted on at the plenary. Parliament is divided 137 apiece between the NDC and the NPP, with one independent candidate as an extra.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here