Jean Mensah’s Incompetence Evident as NDC, NPP Contest 16 Parliamentary Seats in Court

Jean Adukwei Mensah

In addition to the legal contest over the Presidential election, sixteen Parliamentary election results declared and gazette by the Electoral Commission (EC) are currently under contest around the country.

Both the National Democratic Congress and the New Patriotic Party are in court disputing the results that Jean Adukwei Mensah’s EC declared after the December 2020 elections.

NDC is contesting eight seats that were declared for NPP Parliamentary candidates. These include the elections in, Techiman South, Hohoe, Tano South, Tarkwa Nsuaem, Essikado Ketan, Tema West, Zabzugu and Sefwi Wiawso.

Similarly, the NPP is also contesting eight seats declared for the NDC – Savelugu, Pusiga, Jomoro, Assin North, Buem, Kintampo North, Banda and Krachi West.

With the two main parties caught up in the battle of eights, the development in which as many as 16 Parliamentary seats are under contest in court after they were declared by the EC has never happened before.

For many, it underscores the incompetence of the Jean Mensah-led EC, which also has Sereboe Quaicoe and Bossman Asare as Deputy Chairmen of the EC.

Already, the EC is the first respondent in a Presidential election petition filed by former President John Mahama, 2020 Presidential Candidate of the NDC. The results in this election made no mathematical sense after Jean Mensah had declared it. 

The numbers and percentages, after the declaration, added up variously to 100.3%, 100.2% and 100.8%. The EC has since also changed the figures that it declared six times.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here