Speaker Appoints Asiedu Nketia to Parliamentary Service Board

The Speaker of Parliament Alban Sumana Bagbin has appointed the General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia as a board member of Parliamentary Service.

Apparently, the Advisory Committee on the constitution of the Service Board had opposed the appointment, citing political interference on the board if Mr. Asiedu Nketia is appointed.

Speaker Alan Bagbin on Monday, March 29, read the opposition letter from the advisory committee to the Floor of the House. The letter stated that the membership of the NDC’s General Secretary on the Board “may amount to an undesired intrusion into the governance of Parliament by a political party and may not in the circumstances bode well for the independence of parliament since he [Asiedu Nketa] is the General Secretary of a major political party.”

However, the Speaker thought otherwise by insisting on appointing the General Secretary of his political party, saying Mr Asiedu Nketia met the necessary criteria that.

To drive home his argument, Alban Bagbin cited instances where key members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) had also been appointed to the board, saying “what is good for the gander is also good for the goose.”

Years ago, the former NPP Member of Parliament (MP) for New Juaben North, Hackman Owusu Agyeman who was appointed to the Board some years ago.

 “…I want to note that the former Parliamentary Service Board had Honorable Hackman Owusu Agyeman as a member of the board and Hackman Owusu Agyeman later became the Chairman of the Council of Elders of the New Patriotic Party. That one was no intrusion into the governance of Parliament by a member of a political party?” he quizzed.

The Parliamentary Service Board chaired by the Speaker makes regulations prescribing the terms and conditions of service of officers and other employees for the effective and efficient administration of the Service.

Also, the Board has the responsibility of promoting the welfare of MPs and staff of the Service and also controls the management of the Service in matters of policy. 

The MP for Suame, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Tamale South MP Haruna Iddrisu, former Majority leader Abraham Osei Adu, former MP for Wenchi West, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, the Clerk to Parliament and the Speaker constitute the six-member Service Board. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here