Ghanaians Question Absence Of National Security Minister On New Cabinet

Following President Akufo-Addo’s submission of a list of 19 Ministers to the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, as the personalities of his Ministerial Cabinet, the loud absence of National Security Minister, Albert Kan Dapaah from the list has led to questions.

Social media is buzzing with queries as to why of all Ministers, it is the National Security Minister that is not to be part of Cabinet.

This is because the National Security Ministry is perceived as the fulcrum around which all of the State apparatus run.

However, it appears that Jubilee House had decided to leave out the National Security Ministry because the country’s National Security establishment is already heavily represented on the new Cabinet.

Both the Interior Minister and the Defense Minister are on the new list of 19 Ministers who make up the Akufo-Addo government’s Cabinet.

On Thursday, June 10, President Akufo-Addo submitted the list of Cabinet Ministers to Parliament as part of due process.

This is per Article 76 (1) of the Constitution.

The list includes Trade Minister, Alan Kyeremanten, Defense Minister, Dominic Nitiwul, Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery, Foreign Affairs Minister, Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, Attorney General, Godfred Dame and Food and Agriculture Minister, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto.

Others are Energy Minister, Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh, Education Minister, Dr. Yaw Osei Adu-Twum, Health Minister, Kwaku Agyemang-Manu, Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Local Government Minister, Dan Botwe, Lands and Natural Resources Minister, Samuel Abu Jinapor and Sanitation and Water Resources Minister, Cecilia Abena Dapaah.

The rest are John Peter Amewu, Minister for Railways, Ignatius Baffour Awuah, Minister for Employment and Labor Relations, Mavis Hawa Koomson, Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim Awal, Minister for Tourism Arts and Culture and Francis Asenso Boakye, Minister for Works and Housing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here