NPP MPs File Counter-Motion To NDC MPs Motion To Probe 2020 Election Violence

Following a motion by some MPs of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Caucus in Parliament filing a motion for Parliament to probe the 2020 elections and its attendant violence, some New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs have filed a cantankerous counter.

Majority Chief Whip, Frank Annoh Dompreh; Deputy Majority Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin; Abuakwa South MP, Samuel Atta Akyea and the Akuapem South MP, Osei Bonsu Amoah want Parliament to extend the focus of the probe to as far back as 1993.

The motion is to cause an investigation into “alleged interference by some members of the security agencies and some vigilante groups before, during, and after presidential and general elections since 1993 resulting in injuries and loss of lives and make consequential recommendations.”

They are also demanding a probe into the recruitment of persons into the country’s security agencies since 1993 “to establish the level of ethnic, regional and gender balance in the recruitment and appointment to such public offices and make appropriate recommendations.”

The NDC’s earlier motion had been filed on 23rd March 2021. Hon. Haruna Iddrisu, Muntaka Mubarak, Mahama Ayariga, Alhassan Suhuyini, and James Agalga want the scope of the probe to factor in inappropriate interferences by state security.

They had blamed the IGP and other security chiefs of deliberately reneging on their promise to Parliament and Ghanaians to protect lives.

Majority Caucus Leader, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu had however pooh-poohed the motion as hypocritical.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here