Critics’ Choice Awards: ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood’ Named Best Picture; Full Winners List

Other winners included Sam Mendes and Bong Joon Ho in a tie for best director, along with Joaquin Phoenix, Renée Zellweger, Brad Pitt, Laura Dern and Eddie Murphy, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

From left: Ava DuVernay, Eddie Murphy, Joaquin Phoenix, Renée Zellweger
From left: Ava DuVernay, Eddie Murphy, Joaquin Phoenix, Renée ZellwegerJeff Kravitz/FilmMagic; Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Critics Choice Association; Amy Sussman/Getty Images; Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Critics Choice Association

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood was named best picture by the Critics Choice Association at the 25th annual Critics’ Choice Awards on Sunday night.

Among the other winners were Joaquin Phoenix for best actor for Joker, Renée Zellweger for best actress for Judy, Brad Pitt for best supporting actor for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Laura Dern for best supporting actress for Marriage Story and The Irishman for best ensemble.

In addition, Bong Joon Ho and Sam Mendes tied for best director honors for Parasite and 1917, respectively. Quentin Tarantino won for best original screenplay for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, while Greta Gerwig won for best adapted screenplay for Little Women.

On the TV side, Fleabag was named best comedy series, Succession was tapped as best drama series and When They See Us earned best limited series honors.

Also during the kudocast, Keegan-Michael Key presented fellow Dolemite Is My Name co-star Eddie Murphy with the Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award, while Ted Danson presented his fellow Good Place star Kristen Bell with the #SeeHer Award.

Heading into the ceremony, The Irishman led all nominees with 14 nods, while When They See Us topped the TV list with six. Overall, Netflix led with 61 mentions across the TV and film categories, followed by HBO with 33, Amazon with 14 and NBC with 12.

Additional presenters included Kate Beckinsale, Alison Brie, Kelly Clarkson, Brian Cox, Adam Devine, Sara Gilbert, Walton Goggins, Lucy Hale, Chris Hardwick, Anne Hathaway, Sam Heughan, Nick Kroll, Eugene Levy, John Lithgow, Sebastian Maniscalco, Caleb McLaughlin, Kennedy McMann, Seth Meyers, Ashleigh Murray, Niecy Nash, Desus Nice and The Kid Mero, Lupita Nyong’o, Catherine O’Hara, Edi Patterson, Tom Payne, Michael Sheen, JB Smoove, Bradley Whitford, and Scott Wolf.

Taye Diggs hosted the show, which aired on live The CW from 7-10 p.m. ET (delayed PT).

A full list of winners follows.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here